Welcome to Jefferson County ORGenWeb




Jefferson county is available for adoption.  Contact Bob Jenkins if interested.
  We have many genealogical resources available here.

  We would appreciate any contributions you would like to  make to this site.
   Use the box below to search for
   Jefferson County Data

 Brief History:

 Jefferson County was created on Dec. 12, 1914, out of territory that was once part of Crook County.
 The county was named after Mount Jefferson, the second highest peak in Oregon with an elevation of 10,497 feet,
 which marks the county's western skyline. The county is bounded on the north by Wasco County, on the east by Wheeler
 and Crook Counties, on the south by Deschutes County, and on the west by Linn and Marion Counties. The county
 encompasses 1791 square miles.
 Madras, named after the city in India, was incorporated in 1911 and serves as the county seat. A new county courthouse
 was built in 1961. County government is administered by a three-member board of commissioners.

Visit neighboring counties by clicking their link below
 Wasco   Wheeler 
 Linn  Crook  Deschutes

   State Coordinator: Bob Jenkins  
         Assistant State Coordinator:
Martha A. Crosley Graham

©   ORGenWeb    All Rights Reserved.                            This page last updated: